Goshavank monastery /New Getik/ is a unique architectural monument of the world cultural heritage. It is nestled on the bank of Getik River and is covered by dense woods in Gosh village, located 15 km far from Dilijan. Being destroyed by the 1188 earthquake the ancient Getik monastery was replaced by a new monastery monument, erected by the scientist, interpreter, priest, legislator, fabulist and teacher Mkhitar Gosh with the help of Prince Ivane Zakarian. The monument was named New Getik.
After the death of the author of the Datastanagirk’ codex / Doomsday Book Codex/ New Getik was renamed into Goshavank in honor of Mkhitar Gosh. The monastery is also mentioned as a college, university and seminary in historical sources. Prominent cultural figures, such as Kirakos Gandzaketsi and Monk Vardapet not only were educated but they later took over the monastery, created their works and continued the school traditions established by them.
In 1260-1266 when the Zakarians’ power declined and weakened Goshavank was sold to Umek, a prominent wealthy person of that time. During his reign, the monastery complex exuded a particular charm with no exception of the main church of Holy Mother /1191-1196 / as well as of fertile orchards, water mills, villages, fields and forests and villas. mentioned in the work of “History of Armenia” by Kirakos Gandzaketsi and built by Mkhitar Gosh and the monks with the help of Arzakhatuni, the wife of Vaghtang the Great. At present, the churches of Holy Mother, St. Gregory, a narthex, vestibule, Gregory the Illuminator and two other small chapels, two-storey bell tower and library, the remains of the chapel, cross stones and foundations of various buildings are preserved.
Most of them are built by a master Mkhitar, nicknamed “carpenter”. A cemetery and cross stones are part of the memorial complex which also includes three cross stones embroidered by Master Paul. One of them, placed near the façade of St. Gregory chapel was moved to the State Museum of Armenia in 1935. Not far from Goshavank, Gosh dilapidated relics and tombs, as well as a small delicate domed St. Gevorg church / dated to 1254 year / are located. This monument was renovated in the 1957-1966 and in 1972 a museum was based at the complex.